Monday, January 17, 2022

The 2021 Seattle Film Critics Society Award Winners

seattle film critics society logo
Awards season seriously feels like it runs half the year. It’s not quite that long, but beginning in early (and earlier every year) December and, at least the last couple years, wrapping up with the Oscars in March, it’s not short. 


One of the perks of being a film critic is being part of a couple of these groups that gets together each year and casting votes for our favorite movies of a particular year. One of the factions I’m fortunate enough to be a part of, the Seattle Film Critics Society, just announced our awards for 2021.

[Related Reading: The Ten Best Movies of 2021]


As usual, I like some of these choices and take great umbrage with others. I love some of these movies but appreciate a few much less. Also, par for the course, I haven’t seen a couple of these, and some of them likely will never get around to viewing. Such is the way. 

[Related Reading: The 50 Most-Anticipated Movies of 2022]


I’ll skip my usual spiel about how I hate ranking, grading, and otherwise pitting movies against one another. And the one about how, while some people take these awards deathly serious, I play fast and loose with my nominations and votes. 

[Related Reading: The 2020 SFCS Award Winners]


While I may have issue with some of these selections, I do appreciate that the SFCS usually has our own, slightly off-center take on movie awards. We’re a bunch of weirdos and a relatively small group, so things get wacky from time to time. And we have categories like best action choreography and best villain that tend to be more fun than your typical choices. 

[Related Reading: The Top 15 Movies of 2020]


All of that said, here are the 2021 Seattle Film Critics Society Award Winners. Make of them what you will. 


The 2021 Seattle Film Critics Society Winners:


Best Picture of the Year


Drive My Car


Best Director


Ryûsuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car


Best Actor in a Leading Role


Nicolas Cage – Pig


Best Actress in a Leading Role


Kristen Stewart – Spencer


Best Actor in a Supporting Role


Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog


Best Actress in a Supporting Role


Ariana DeBose – West Side Story


Best Ensemble Cast


Mass – Henry Russell Bergstein, Allison Estrin, casting directors


Best Action Choreography


In the Heights


Best Screenplay


Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi & Takamasa Oe


Best Animated Feature


Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, director


Best Documentary Feature


Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, director


Best Film Not in the English Language


Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi, director


Best Cinematography


The Green Knight – Andrew Droz Palermo


Best Costume Design


The Green Knight – Malgosia Turzanska


Best Film Editing


Dune – Joe Walker


Best Original Score


Dune – Hans Zimmer


Best Production Design


The Green Knight – Jade Healy (Production Design); Jenny Oman (Set Decorator)


Best Visual Effects


Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brain Connor, Gerd Nefzer


Best Youth Performance


Emilia Jones – CODA


Villain of the Year


Phil Burbank – The Power of the Dog – portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch

No comments: